Mon. Mar 4th, 2024

Chaka Khan acquired the Musical Excellence Award on the Rock & Roll Corridor of Fame ceremony tonight. The queen of funk, R&B, and disco was acknowledged each for her solo catalog and as a part of synth-funk trailblazers Rufus. Jazmine Sullivan gave the introduction speech by tears, recounting Khan’s selflessness in reaching out to Sullivan’s mom as she went by most cancers. Khan carried out “I Really feel for You” with Frequent, “Candy Factor” with H.E.R., “Ain’t No person,” and “I’m Each Lady” with Sia. Khan gave a quick acceptance speech after the efficiency. Watch the highlights under.

Khan’s fellow Musical Excellence Award winners are Al Kooper and Elton John’s songwriter Bernie Taupin. The category of 2023 inductees are Kate Bush, Missy Elliott, Willie Nelson, Rage In opposition to the Machine, Sheryl Crow, the Spinners, and George Michael. This yr’s Musical Affect Awards went to hip-hop legend DJ Kool Herc and the late Hyperlink Wray. The Ahmet Ertegun Award was posthumously awarded to Don Cornelius, the creator of Soul Prepare.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *