Wed. Feb 1st, 2023

Native musicians from the Northwest had combined success in final week’s Native American Music Awards.

Congratulations go to singer/songwriter Kelly Derrickson from West Kelowna, British Columbia. Derrickson received the Greatest People/Americana Recording award for her music “I Am Mom Nature.”

She wasn’t the one act from the Canadian province to win. A hiphop duo, the Snotty Nostril Rez Children based mostly in Vancouver, took the Greatest Rap Hip Hop Video award.

Different Northwest artists nominated however shut out embrace Yakama tribal musician and engineer Faran Sohappy, who lives and works in Grand Coulee, Washington. Sohappy was nominated in three classes: Greatest Pow Wow Recording, Greatest Conventional Recording and Greatest Honor/Tribute Music.

“I’m pleased with how far I bought by myself as a result of I used to be a digital unknown in opposition to a number of the world’s greatest drum teams and the world’s greatest singers and a number of the greatest Native artists,” he mentioned.

He made the journey again to Niagara Falls for the awards ceremony, hoping to listen to his title known as. However then Mom Nature dumped a number of toes of snow on western New York.

“We simply stayed on the resort. We actually couldn’t go anyplace. There have been just a few locations open to eat, however proper down the street from us was just a little gasoline station that we sort of frequented,” he mentioned.

The ceremony was delayed for 2 days. Sohappy says the organizers requested if he may keep and attend in-person. That didn’t work for him, so he flew residence and watched it on a livestream.

Among the many different Northwest musicians nominated: Sohappy’s buddy, hiphop artist James Pakootas, whose skilled title is Simply Jamez, from the Colville Confederated Tribes in Washington and Scott Kalama, a rapper generally known as Blue Flamez from the Heat Springs Confederated Tribes in Oregon.

See the entire checklist of winners right here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *